European Micropezids & Tanypezids

Countries are thirsty for summarized data and insights for policy-making but we are running short of tools (Martinez, 2023)

The fauna of Pseudopomyzidae , Micropezidae , Megamerinidae and Psilidae ( Diptera ) in the Gemer area (Central Slovakia) Synopsis of species

Publication Type:Journal Article
Year of Publication:2012
Authors:J. Roháček
Journal:Casopis slezského zemského muzea (A)
ISBN Number:1211-3026
Keywords:Calobata petronella, Chamaepsila, Chamaepsila buccata, Chamaepsila strigata, conservation, diptera, faunistics, Gemer, Megamerina, Megamerina dolium, Megamerinidae, Micropeza, Micropeza brevipennis, Micropeza corrigiolata, micropezidae, nature, NERIA, Pseudomyzidae, Pseudopomyza atrimana, Psilidae, Rainieria, Rainieria buccata, Rainieria calceata, Slovakia

A review of the fauna of four acalyptrate families (Diptera) in the Gemer area (Slovakia) is presented. Based on previously published records and material examined 1 species of Pseudopomyzidae, 10 species of Micropezidae, 1 species of Megamerinidae and 18 species of Psilidae are listed, each with comments about general distribution, biology, faunistic and/or nature conservation importance. Pseudopomyza atrimana (Meigen, 1830) (Pseudopomyzidae), Cnodacophora stylifera (Loew, 1870), Neria longiceps (Loew, 1870), Rainieria calceata (Fallén, 1820) (Micropezidae), Megamerina dolium (Fabricius, 1805) (Megamerinidae) and Chamaepsila strigata (Collin, 1959) (Psilidae) are the most significant species in the area belonging to rare taxa distinctly jeopardized due to association with (in Central Europe) endangered habitats. Chamaepsila strigata, a new species for the fauna of Slovakia, is recorded for the first time since its description from Montenegro. The first record from Austria and second record from Slovakia of Cnodacophora stylifera are given. New data about habitat association of these rare species are presented.

Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith